Can I use a paralegal for divorce?

You can use a paralegal to prepare legal papers but not for legal advice – that would be practicing law without a license.  Paralegals can run anywhere from $50-$100 per hour (which is much better than the $200-$500 per hour charged by lawyers).

In my lengthy case (three years and counting), I have frequently used a paralegal to prepare court papers. It is simply not worth the time to prepare them myself (they have to be typed a certain way then notarized then delivered to the court) and I refuse to pay a lawyer $1000 for basic clerical work. It is well worth paying $100 for a paralegal to do the leg work.

Often I can even email drafts of my pleadings back and forth before the final version is submitted. Of course, I am now intimately acquainted with Nevada divorce law and process so I am in a good position to know what I would like to put in my documents. Paralegals simply cannot give you advice on what to ask for – but they can give you a lot of advice about the legal process and how to file documents. My advice is to read all the posts on this site then go see a paralegal to file your documents. If you need to represent yourself in court, consider using an attorney in an unbundled capacity, and failing all else, retain a lawyer (or here or here).

The difficult part is to find a paralegal who is skilled at the craft. Fortunately, the paralegal I use is simply excellent. Dads can contact Equal Rights for Divorced Fathers for a referral.

17 Responses to Can I use a paralegal for divorce?

  1. I find your post very interesting. You have depicted very good facts that is very useful. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Lucy Tannrhill says:

    Looking for a paralegel to help do divorce papers

  3. Hello, Neat post. There is an issue together with your website in internet explorer, may check this? IE nonetheless is the market chief and a large section of people will omit your wonderful writing because of this problem.

  4. I personally ponder the reasons why you named this particular blog, “Can I use a paralegal for divorce?

    Anatomy of a Divorce”. In any event . I admired the blog!
    Many thanks-Guadalupe

  5. Glad you found a good resource for your case. If you can find the time to educate yourself for a do-it-yourself divorce, there really is only two reasons to hire an attorney: 1. for the legal advice that you couldn’t find an answer to, especially if it’s really, really complicated. 2. to represent you in a court of law, all of which you can avoid if you educate yourself in the first place – which is what you did for yourself. When you know what you need to get done, then hire a legal document professional to do the work for you. Why pay higher prices with an attorney? If you really feel like paying for the attorney’s nice office furniture, or their student loans from law school, then go ahead, I guess, and pay more. They will ask their paralegal to do the paperwork anyway. What we are saying, is cut out the middle man.

  6. Lindsay says:

    Aw, this wass an incredibly nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to produce a top notc article… but
    what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and don’t manage to get nearly
    anything done.

  7. I all tthe time emailed this webpage post page to all my friends, for the reason that if like to read it after
    that my links will too.

  8. I have beеn browing online mote than three hours
    noωadaуs, but I neveг found any attention-grabbing аrtіcle
    like уours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
    In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made just right
    content material as you probably did, the web
    will probably be much mοre useful than еver before.

  9. It’s actuаlly a nice and useful piece of info.

    I’m hapρy that you simply sharеd this helpful infoгmatiоn
    with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank yyοu for shаring.

  10. Refugio says:

    Thank уou, I’ve just been searching for information about this topic
    for a while and yours is the gгeatest I’ve discovered ѕo far.

    Вut, what inn regaгds to thе bottom line? Are you sure concernimg the sοurce?

  11. It’s impressive that you are getting thoughts from this post as well as from our dialogue
    made at this place.

  12. Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!

    Cheers

  13. What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this web
    page regularly, this web site is truly pleasant and the users are actually
    sharing nice thoughts.

  14. www.192.com says:

    When some one searches for his necessary thing, thus he/she needs
    to be available that in detail, thus that thing is
    maintained over here.

  15. It’s amazing to go to see this site and reading the views of
    all mates on the topic of this paragraph, while I
    am also eager of getting knowledge.

  16. Hi there, the whole thing is going sound here
    and ofcourse every one is sharing facts, that’s genuinely fine, keep up writing.

Leave a Reply

